If you are faint hearted skip this post

 

On the days when I’m not sightseeing, I’m actually doing work. Here’s one in which we removed an entire segment of the spine to correct a deformity. I helped the orthopedic surgeon. If you don’t understand the picture, that’s fine and probably better. (This one’s for Jack.) It was a real tour de force.

And this is the first brain tumor I removed in Saudi Arabia. It was a benign meningioma.

The surprise was that I told the patient she needed surgery and she said, “OK” without blinking or negotiating. Here, even with death days or moments away, you will hear, “What will happen if I don’t have surgery?” It went very well and she is fine. I have since seen some of the most challenging pathology in my career. It’s interesting but unfortunate for some of the patients that I have encountered.

2 thoughts on “If you are faint hearted skip this post

Leave a Reply

