Hawk

Actually the picture I have of the hawk is very poor but is posted for illustrative purposes. Last weekend the bird feeder was in play. We had a lot of activity. Cardinals, sparrows, tufted titmouse, doves, blue jays, wood peckers, finches, and of course squirrels were present and about. The area was suddenly quiet and all the birds were gone. My daughter cried out that a large bird was flying about the yard. We looked out and in the bushes sat a raptor. My LCD could barely make it out among the bushes. The downloaded image tells me it’s probably a hawk – red tailed??? All the little birds and even the squirrels were gone. Silence in the yard!

Well camouflaged

The hawk left and the birds came back. Yesterday afternoon, as I dozed, a loud bang on the window woke me and startled my wife. I looked up to see the hawk hoovering and then backing away from the window. He had flown into it full on. He fluttered and then turned like a fighter jet and flew off to the south. My wife was upset when she saw blood and feathers on the window. Surely the hawk has sustained a serious head injury and would die shortly of a subdural hematoma (my medical specialty – neurosurgery). I suspected that the hawk had lived and that there would be no corpse. Alas, I was wrong. There in the snow depression my boot had made when I had refilled the feeder, was a corpse. It was a poor unfortunate dove. How the hawk had killed it and then flown into the window is still a puzzle. The blood, I think is from the dove. The dove was caught because it was larger and slower so that the hawk could corner and capture it. The other smaller birds were probably too much work and too small a meal. The dove is now a frozen dinner in the snow. And to finish the anecdote, my wife found a dead mouse in the trash bin this morning.

Dove - sadly

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Gallery follows:

Leave a Reply

