Birds in Flight … and such

Say what!!??

Go on and scram!!

I finally got some shots of birds in flight. It’s so hard to predict where the action will be. I was helped here by a bird feeder and patience…. and my utilization of a tripod. On most days the birds are polite and wait until one bird clears before the next arrives. I am reminded of the landing pattern at an airport. However this was the first snowy day and everyone was hungry. The feeder was almost empty. So there was a push to get to the front of the line. This drew the attention of a hawk later. Well, rather than hold a camera at the ready, I set up with a tripod and pre-focused the camera. Then as the action unfolded I shot. The shutter speed was 1/250 to 1/500 and later 1/1000 and 1/2000. The lighting wasn’t great and the depth of field not ideal. Still, I think I got some interesting photos. If you look up cousin David’s hummingbirds, I did not have the advantage of his great conditions. His photos were phenomenal. Otherwise, I got the usual suspects. We have lots of cardinals. The woodpeckers are special. I saw the female for the first time. It doesn’t have any red on its head. Squirrels, don’t start. My wife has finally got a feeder set up where they can’t get at the feeder. They eat the seeds off the ground. But the suet is fair game.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Gallery follows:

Leave a Reply

